A True All-American Baseball player

May 5, 1884 Charles Albert Bender, commonly called Chief, was born in Crow Wing Country, Minnesota. He would go on to be the only Native American baseball player to be inducted into the hall of fame after his 1953 induction. When people think of discrimination in baseball they think of Jackie Robinson, and the 1960s, but time has passed and it is forgotten that there was a time when another group of non-whites tried to get into the MLB.

Now, you might be wondering, why should I care about this guy? Well, he was one of the early greats in the sport. He was so important to the game that his influence is still felt today. Bender was credited with inventing the pitch commonly known as the slider.

Bender’s carrier lasted 16 years and within that time he found himself winning 212 games and accumulated 1,711 strikeouts. Now, 212 games might not be a big deal, but he only lost 127 games throughout his carrier. He also had the opportunity to pitch in five consecutive World Series tournaments when he was with the Philadelphia Athletics (1910-1914). After the 1914 season he went to the Baltimore Terrapins in the Federal league, and in 1916 he went to the Philadelphia Phillies where he remained until 1917.

He played and coached for the minors until 1925 when he played in one game for the Chicago White Sox. Manager Eddie Collins decided to pull a prank on the Red Sox. Bender, who was 42 at the time did not do well. He let two runs score and did not even finish the half of the inning. The rest of his life was dedicated to the sport as he started working with the Athletics at the age of 61 as a pitcher for batting practice, and would later become the pitching coach.

Follow me on Twitter @TodayInSport365

27 comments

  1. Having read this I thought it was very informative. I appreciate you
    spending some time and effort to put this information together.

    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    1. It means a lot that you left a comment! I will have more posts to come soon.

  2. I take pleasure in, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be having a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

    1. I am happy you found what you were looking for!

  3. Howdy! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established website such as yours require
    a massive amount work? I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my
    diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    1. It is a ton of work, especially since I am trying to post every day. I started this right before my final exams and I just got home from Europe so I have not been able to do as much as I would like. I am really new to this as well, but I guess my best advice would be set time aside where you work on it ever day or every week, or how ever often you wish to post so you make sure it gets done. I hope this helps, keep me updated!

  4. Amazing! Its really amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear
    idea regarding from this paragraph.

  5. Hey there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same subjects? Thank you!

    1. As of now, I unfortunately do not know of any other blogs or sites that do what I do, I will let you know if I find any.

  6. Wow, superb weblog format! How long have you ever been running a blog for?
    you make blogging glance easy. The entire look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

    1. Thank you! This is my first blog, I started it at the end of April and have not posted much because of finals week and a short study abroad trip to Europe. I am working on catching up with my ‘daily’ posts right now and hope to be caught up soon.

  7. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Thank you! Where are your contact details though?

    1. Thank you for your comment, I just posted my email. I just wanted to avoid too much email when I knew I might not have access to it for a solid two weeks.

  8. I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out more details.

    1. There are some links in the post to articles on the subject. I am happy you found interest and want to do further research.

  9. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain.

    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

    1. I do not have to pay for my blog at all, I would if I wanted to have the domain name and other features that WordPress offers. You just need a working email address as far ad I am concerned. I hope this helps.

  10. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site
    is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my
    visitors would really benefit from some of the information you provide
    here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

    1. Go ahead! Also send me a link to your site, I would love to see it!

  11. I like reading through an article that can make men and women think.

    Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

    1. Thank you for reading, and commenting, it really means a lot. As a young woman I try to make everything I write suitable for both men and women because I know many people of both gender are interested in the sporting world.

  12. Right here is the perfect web site for anyone
    who hopes to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to
    argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a new spin on a topic that’s been written about for ages. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

    1. Thank you for your support!

  13. I like the valuable information you provide to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again right here regularly. I am relatively certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

    1. Thank you for the support!

  14. I’m pretty pleased to uncover this website. I wanted to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to see new information in your blog.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read what I have written.

Leave a Reply

