The Braves win the division

On October 5, 2001, the Atlanta Braves became the first team to win ten consecutive division titles.

The Braves gave the Florida Marlins a 20-3 beating at Turner Field in Atlanta. They finished the season with 90 wins and 72 losses. Kevin Millwood walked away with the win after he allowed three runs off of four hits in six innings. Ryan Dempster managed to get two batters out before he was relieved. He let seven runs score off of one hit. The Braves finished their half of the first inning with ten runs. The Marlins went on to score two more hits. The Braves scored 10 more runs off of 11 hits.

One of the team’s stars was pitcher Greg Maddux who won 17 games. He went on to win over 300 games by the end of his career.

Catcher Javy Lopez helped the Braves out with a bat in 2001, as he hit 17 home runs.

The Braves beat the Houston Astros in the first round of the playoffs after a three game sweep. They lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks in the second round four games to one. The D-backs went on to beat the New York Yankees in the World Series in seven games.

“We’ll be back next year. We always are, aren’t we?” -Greg Maddux (said like a true Chicago Cub) 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: