Roger Clemens awarded 5th Cy Young Award

On November 16, 1998, Roger Clemens became the first pitcher in Major League Baseball player to be awarded with a fifth Cy Young Award after his last season with the Toronto Blue Jays.

By the end of his career, Clemens won seven Cy Young awards. He was also named American League Most Valuable Player in 1986. He was with the Boston Red Sox at the time. He was awarded with a number of pitching awards including five AL TSN pitcher of the year awards. The 11 time All-Star player was picked by the Red Sox in the first round of the 1983 amateur draft. This year he was cast on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot but 37 per-cent of the votes was not enough to earn an induction ceremony.

Clemens made 12 separate post season appearances, six of them ended in a World Series. Two World Series rings were claimed by the future Hall of Famer.

Over 24 years Clemens won 354 out of 709 of the games he pitched in, winning almost 60 per-cent of his games. He had 118 complete games and a remarkable 46 shutouts. He spent time with the Red Sox, New York Yankees, Blue Jays and Houston Astros. His last season was 2007 with the Yankees.

“I wish he were still playing. I’d probably crack his head open to show him how valuable I was.” -Roger Clemens after Hank Aaron made a statement about pitchers not being allowed to be awarded the Most Valuable Player award. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: